New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

MAC Newbie!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

shounak

shounak is on a distinguished road

Hi.

I am thinking of buying a mac laptop. The usage will be just normal home use. I already have a good pc desktop for other needs.

I have never used a MAC or APPLE product before.

What do you guys recommend I get? My max budget is $750.

I am in Australia. Is it advisable to buy it from Amazon?

Can I install some windows programs on a mac?
QUOTE Thanks
Shikarnov

Shikarnov is a jewel in the roughShikarnov is a jewel in the roughShikarnov is a jewel in the rough

If, by normal home use, you mean surfing the web, checking email, playing the occasional game, etc, then I would think you might be better served by getting a new iPad instead of an older or used Mac laptop. iPads start at $500, which would leave you some cash to accessorize and buy apps.

As for buying from Amazon: I've been buying from the United States version of Amazon for many years and have had very few problems -- and of the few problems I did have, all were immediately and satisfactorily resolved by Amazon. I have no idea whether Amazon's Australian branch is as reliable, but I would imagine that to be the case.