Clearing things up before my first Mac purchase...
    Just asking some quick questions before I ditch Windows for good, hopefully.

1. Does yanking the memory and drive out of a 2011 Macbook Pro void the warranty? I'll prolly switch out the hdd for an sdd pretty quick after purchase, and the memory might get an upgrade too.

2. Prices for ssd and memory seem decent now, would it be easier to just pay what Mac is asking for at this point? (since I have no idea what "good" is for memory and drives, i've been buying Dell for 20 years)

....and I had more questions but it's 7am and i'm on no sleep so having trouble remembering lol, ill pop some more up when I think of em.

Specs:
    15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
    changing the HD and RAM dont void the warranty no. but "yanking" it out might break something that does
    If you find a post helpful, don't forget to use the reputation system (top right of post.)
    Join us in the IRC! How? Add me on Steam, Origin or PSN (Vita): robduckyworth

Specs:
    MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
    As Rob says "Yanking" it out might not be the best idea

It won't void the warranty as the RAM and HDD are "user replaceable".
    I wouldn't get it straight from Apple either as they seem to like slapping a huge premium on upgrades. Go to Crucial or somewhere similar to get the upgrades yourself.

Hope this helps
    Bring on more questions

- Simon

If you have been helped, don't forget to use the Reputation system at the top right of their post.
    May 2011
    Nominated: March 2011 & April 2011

Specs:
    Late 2013 27" iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 6s+, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, Sierra
    Memory and hard drives are user replaceable, however, any damage incurred by you in their removal and swap out, is not covered under the warranty.