New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

LONG TIME Windows user switched to Apple

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

bentharbour

bentharbour has a spectacular aura about

So let me start off by saying that I am a 24 year old Graduate student who really does not do a lot of design work on the computer. I mainly use the computer for my music, movies, the odd video editing, email, etc. (I guess I am just an average computer user).

That might be a main reason why it took me so long to move to Apple, as I had always heard "Mac's are for photoshop and video editing". I moved into my new place and started my graduate studies, and noticed my roommate has a MBP 13", and all I had was a Lenovo Thinkpad from school (although this computer is very good internally, i7 chip, quad core 500 GB 6 GB ram).

One day I asked if I could use his MBP just to check it out because of my natural curiosity and I instantly LOVED this thing. The ease of everything, everything is right there and so easy to use; not to mention the beautiful construction of it. Needless to say, I was blown away. So I started looking into my needs and decided on the iMac 27" (i3, 3.2 Ghz, 1TB, upgraded to 12GB by me, because apple is a rip off).