New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Macbook Internet works only on the stairs

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

melloncollie1

melloncollie1 is on a distinguished road

Im new to this and this is a bit of a story so please bear with me..

Macbook 10.4.11 owned by my brother was re-called for battery issues about 4 years ago, when the macbook was returned, wifi would only be received in close proximity to the router. This issue has never been fixed and now i have 'inherited' the computer i want to get the problem sorted. I used the mac last year at university using an ethernet cable which was fine, but in 2 weeks i will be in a new house and want to be able to use wifi.

At the moment The macbook can only receive wireless internet on the stairs, not in my bedroom, the lounge, anywhere else. Other family members have ample wireless on their computers all over the house, so I believe it is not the router (SKY) which is the problem. My brother has taken the laptop to several university houses, and every-time, it will only work near the router. The guy in the apple shop said if the laptop wifi card (apologies for my lack of technical details) was broken, the internet wouldn't work at all, or would work randomly and in different areas of the house.