New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Non-mac monitor

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mhafwet

mhafwet is on a distinguished road

I need to buy a macbook pro for college. I'm in my third year, studying international photojournalism. I'm willing to sink in the $$$ for the laptop and software I need, but I'm hesitant about the monitor.

I want a 13" macbook pro with a desktop display to plug into while I'm at home.

As I browse online, I'm finding good-quality monitors for about $500 less that the mac 24" cinema display. Like this one: Buy.com - Samsung 2494SW 24" Widescreen 1080p LCD Monitor - 50,000:1 (DC), 5ms, DVI

My questions:
1) I'm hoping for a fast and easy hookup to the external display. Sit down, plug in, go. Will anything non-mac be a pain, or is it pretty easy?

2) I'm a serious photographer. I'd like to work for National Geographic when I graduate, and I need extremely accurate color on my display. I'm going to be buying a colorimeter to calibrate the screen bi-weekly. I've never used a colorimeter before, and I would love to know if colorimeter software will calibrate a mac computer with a non-mac display flawlessly. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
Chris H.

Chris H. is a jewel in the roughChris H. is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: late 2009 MacBook - 10.9