New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Opinions on Switching to and iMac and iPad Setup

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

ZoSo0789

ZoSo0789 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 21.5" iMac, 3.6 Intel i5 w/ 4MB L3 cache, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5670 ---- 16 GB iPad w/ 3G

Hi, I'm a mathematics and engineering student and debating on which model of Mac to buy (yes, Im sure you get millions of these threads lol). My 6 year old Dell Inspirion is on its last legs and I want to get a new setup before it entirely gives out; Im entirely and completely sick of PCs and Windows in general. My first impression was to get a MacBook Pro, but upon further research I think I'm going to go the iMac/iPad combo route. Now when I'm using this at school (the iMac only.... Im well aware the iPad is just for "consuming" media and not creating), I use it for ALOT of document processing, ALOT of spreadsheets, extensive internet research and Facebook procrastination lol, Photoshop, video and audio encoding, ALOT of music play and mixing, some movie watching, and plan on playing Doom 3. Is this model Im looking at overkill, or about right? Any opinions on this?

21.5" iMac
3.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo w/ 6MB L2 cache (the extra cache is worth the upgrade IMO and may as well get the better processor while Im spending the money)