Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   Annoying desktop icons (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/194336-annoying-desktop-icons.html)

doolally 03-11-2010 08:07 AM

Annoying desktop icons
 
I've noticed recently that after a days work the desktop is littered with annoying white icons of the images and documents i have opened to work with.

have I set a Preference the wrong way? this farly recent behaviour

thanks folks

doolally

Nethfel 03-11-2010 08:43 AM

I'm curious too about all of these files you've been working with. Are they the actual file names or something more like ._filename? Hopefully it's something simple like you've made hidden files visible or something like that.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chas_m (Post 1015893)
Also, and this is key to helping us find the answer: will you be watching Doctor Who this Easter weekend?! :)

A bit off topic but - You bet I will be - although I'll have to admit, I really liked David Tennant as the Doctor so I'm not sure how I'll feel about the new guy yet...

doolally 03-11-2010 09:01 AM

Now that worries me as I WON'T be watching the Doctor:Blushing: Fraid I never was a fan but just in case you decide to answer, I'm on Snow Leopard on an iMac. I wouldn't have the foggiest notion on how to provide a screenshot but these are small icons of a white page with the top right corner curled over. Some have "doc" on them and have the actual filename (shortened) under them. They all appear on the right of the desktop. Incidentally, I have Spaces enabled

does that help?

doolally

Nethfel 03-11-2010 09:13 AM

For a screen shot of the whole desktop, press:

Shift+CMD+3

To be able to highlight a specific area as a screenshot, press:

Shift+CMD+4

you'll end up with crosshairs that you can use to highlight a region (left click and hold where to start and drag out to mark the region), when you let go of the mouse button it will capture the screenshot

toMACsh 03-11-2010 09:29 AM

Um, don't you need to tell the OP how to post the screen shot?

I've never posted an image on a board (!), so I can't help.

Nethfel 03-11-2010 09:46 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Actually, there is another way to get the photos to us if you don't have web hosting available - it's attachment within the forums. As long as the image isn't too big.

To do this, instead of a quick reply, click Go Advanced and in there, you should see a paperclip icon, click it and a new screen will pop up with the ability to upload files.

See the attached photos for the icon to look for and the window that will pop up when you click the icon...

doolally 03-11-2010 10:53 AM

OK, i had a look round and found some spare webspace so here's the link

Couldn't manage to get a thumbnail into the post :Oops:

http://www.gurneystreet.co.uk/web_ga...screenshot.jpg

salmar 03-11-2010 12:33 PM

bbbbbb

toMACsh 03-11-2010 02:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nethfel (Post 1015926)
Actually, there is another way to get the photos to us if you don't have web hosting available - it's attachment within the forums. As long as the image isn't too big.

To do this, instead of a quick reply, click Go Advanced and in there, you should see a paperclip icon, click it and a new screen will pop up with the ability to upload files.

Actually, I see the paper clip icon in the toolbar after clicking the Post Reply button as well. I'll have a closer look at the "Go Advanced" window, but it seems to be the same. Thanks for pointing that out. Hope that's not what failed to work for doolally.

Larry H 03-11-2010 02:17 PM

I am not sure if there is an easier way, but I drag the unwanted icons into the trash.

Larry H

doolally 03-11-2010 02:37 PM

Yeh, so do I but why are they there in the first place:Angry:

Nethfel 03-11-2010 03:07 PM

Here are a few other questions:

Where are you opening the files from? Are you sure you're not saving the files? What program are you using to open/work on these files? Does said program have a setting in its preferences for a default location for saving (ie: is it set to save files to the desktop?)

There is either a setting misconfigured or some action you're performing without realizing it that is creating those files - the key now is to try to get as much info about exactly what you're doing and how you're doing it when one of those files appears.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.