New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Customizing the Dock

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

LovelyLici

LovelyLici is on a distinguished road

Hi all!

I'm new to the Mac Forums and new to the world of Mac. I got my MacBook (mid-2009, white) 2 days ago, and I'm still trying to figure things out.

One thing I'd like to do is customize the dock. I'd like to get rid of that mirror underneath the icons, or change the colour of it. I read somewhere that the colour could be changed, but can't seem to find it now. I downloaded CandyBar (the free trial) and I have not been able to figure out how to use it. I ended up a bit frustrated and ready to delete the application by the end of the night last night, but I don't know how to properly delete apps either. Lol. So I still have CandyBar and the same ol' dock with the white-ish mirror beneath it. Anyone know how to change it?
QUOTE Thanks
Jamie-Jamie

Jamie-Jamie is a jewel in the roughJamie-Jamie is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: Mac Pro, Power Mac G4, iMac G3, iPhone 3GS

Without third-party apps, you're stuck with that glass Dock unless you want to use the terminal. It's not that bad, though! Try this, and don't worry, if you type something wrong, it won't break anything...

That said, don't go trying random stuff at the Terminal!