New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

cut files/folders? o.O?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Murderface

Murderface is an unknown at this point

ok i have been using windows since i was like 5 years old. (win 95) and well i seem to gotten quite used to CTRL+X -> CTRL+V for those who dont know...
CUT -> PASTE that it is text or folders or files or whole stacks of files i always use it and i use it all the time. since it's so **** eassy. it's not that you can loose data with it since the folder is only being removed after it is completely pasted

but after making a complete mess of the files in my macbook i'm now organazing my files again and trust me... that's always a lot of work for me ^^

but now i seem to be unable to actually cut a file? i mean WTH? aint this one of the most BASIC things a (cutting edge) OS should do? i mean do the guys at apple think we are to stupid to know what we are doing? it works on text... and if you forget to paste there your text is actually gone! (yes, also in windows)

Trust me i'm not trying to make my mac into a windows i have a windows pc and laptop for that ^^ but come'on... cut is BASIC functionality and works so much faster then: copy -> paste -> go back to folder -> delete file -> go to trash -> delete file again