Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   connecting macbook to LCD TV Help (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/183395-connecting-macbook-lcd-tv-help.html)

fidel 12-27-2009 10:59 AM

connecting macbook to LCD TV Help
 
Seasons Greetings to you all.

My son has a white Macbook, with the following specs; 2.4GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM, Bus speed 800MHz, running OSX. I am trying to connect it to this TV [URL="http://www.lge.com/uk/it-products/monitors/LG-lcd-monitor-M227WD.jsp"]
I bought from my local Mac shop based on their advice the following cables a Mini- DVI to DVI adapter and a Belkin HDMI-DVI video cable. So when connecting to the TV should it be via the HDMI port? as that is what the cable is for. Or have I been sold the incorrect cables? The problem is that the colours are incorrect and the screen is fuzzy and the back light shines through, or do I have to change settings on the macbook?

bobtomay 12-27-2009 11:03 AM

Sounds like the connections are not good.

Take apart all the cables and re-connect them (whether they look like they need it or not).

Also, open up System Preferences - Displays and make sure the correct resolution is set.

fidel 12-27-2009 11:24 AM

I have tried to connect and re-connect the cables, but still no luck. I have tried to change the Mac's screen resolution to the one recommended by LG which is 1920x1080 60Hz, but this is not in the display options.

bobtomay 12-27-2009 11:38 AM

When you open up Displays there will be two windows, if it's detecting the external display - one for your Mac's screen and one for the TV. Make sure you're changing the correct one. Your MB screen should be called 'Color LCD'. you can also use the 'Detect displays' button if it's not.

Make sure you have the TV changed to the correct input port.
Also try the other HDMI port on the monitor.

fidel 12-27-2009 11:45 AM

Hi,

I did try all of that before coming to the forum, still no joy. The LCD tv also has connectors for VGA and RGB as well, would the macbook work better with a different connection to the TV?

fidel 12-27-2009 11:51 AM

Just a sudden thought, should the screen resolution of the TV match the screen resolution of the MB? i.e. If the MB screen resolution is 1200x 800 for example, should the TV resolution be the same?

bobtomay 12-27-2009 11:54 AM

Not necessary, should be able to run at native resolution on both of those screens with any MB.

What you're describing is most often a cable or port problem.
The drag... the only way to test is connecting to a different monitor and switching out the adapter and cable.

Is this also a new monitor? i.e., you've verified it works?

fidel 12-27-2009 01:04 PM

Yes it is a new monitor, bought for Christmas. I have tried it working via the VGA port using a Linux machine and it works fine with that. I know that on the LG website there is nothing about the monitor/tv working with a mac, is there a brand of monitor in the UK that works with a mac 'out of the box'?

bobtomay 12-27-2009 01:30 PM

Shouldn't be an issue with any monitor working with a Mac 'out of the box'.

Am guessing you don't have a DVI port on your Linux box?

Have anything else in the house that connects with HDMI - DVD Player, etc. to try?
If you can rule out the monitor, at least you're down to the adapter/cable.

fidel 12-27-2009 07:34 PM

How would I know if it is the port on the Mac?

bobtomay 12-27-2009 07:48 PM

By using a known working adapter, cable and monitor.
You have any other HDTV in the house?

While it could be the port on your Mac, my guess is the adapter/cable or the monitor.
If it is the Mac, this will be the first report of a malfunctioning video port I will have seen.

fidel 12-27-2009 09:48 PM

Ok, I will try another HDMI device to the monitor when I get home from work. Begining to think it might be the monitor, but will try another device first to rule it out, will let you know the outcome.

fidel 12-28-2009 01:18 AM

Ok, during the night I have come across alot of posts on other forums (I am not trolling by the way!) A lot of them appear to be suggesting that the problem is while the macbook is open the LCD monitor is trying to mirror the macbook screen(?) the answer to this is to put the MB to sleep, then use another key board and mouse to work with. This appears to me to be a rather expensive way round this problem. So is this a work around?

JUKE179r 12-28-2009 02:59 AM

The only DVI connectors that I have found to work the best are the ones with all the pins in the connector (DVI-I Dual Link).

http://www.logicsupply.com/images/dv...ctor_types.gif

bobtomay 12-28-2009 07:00 AM

What you have seen described is how you would use the MB with a 2nd display with the lid closed (in clamshell mode). To suggest this as a resolution to your problem, I believe, is 'grasping at straws' at this point.

Your MB should be capable of running the 2nd display simultaneous with it's own monitor. If it's not, then there is something wrong with the MB. The above could be a work around for a video card on it's way out and no longer capable of supporting dual displays.

Personally, I'll stand by what I have suggested above, that it is either the adapter/cable or the monitor. Regardless, all three (inc'g the MB) need to be ruled out and as of yet, you've ruled nothing out. You have:

a MB that has never been used with a 2nd display.
an adapter and cable that has never yet functioned.
a monitor that has yet to display a picture from anything via it's HDMI ports.

Even if changing the cabling from your MB to VGA enables you to use the monitor, you need to make sure the ports on that monitor work. Since it is brand new, now is the time to make sure and return/exchange it if need be.

Once you have plugged in a DVD player, satellite receiver, etc. and verified the ports work on the monitor to rule it out of the equation, then it's time to take the adapter/cable and MB back to your local Mac shop and tell them either one or the other does not work and let them figure out which. They will have the extra cables lying around to easily check and know for sure.

edit
Ref jukes' suggestion: While you should not require a dual-link cable at a 1920x1080 resolution, I have seen moving to a dual-link cable resolve similar issues on rare occasions. This would again be something to let your local Mac shop check out, as they'll have the cabling there to test it out without you splurging for something you may not require and/or may still not work. And again, I wouldn't even bother with going there until you rule out that monitor.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.