New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Back up Windows and OS X on one hard drive

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

coltman75

coltman75 is on a distinguished road

Hello all. This is my first post.

I'm relatively new to the Mac OS. I bought my first mac about nine weeks ago. A 13" MacBook Pro.

I also have a Windows Vista desktop machine. I have a 1TB external hard drive plugged into it for backup purposes. I use the backup and restore center that comes with Vista. I was wanting to know: is there a way that I can wirelessly access this drive and use it with Time Machine.

Here's what I did. I set up the Vista machine (let's call it "Vista") to share the drive across the network. I called it "backup". In finder, I pressed cmd+K and in the box I typed //Vista/backup. The drive mounted and is sitting on my desktop. I can read and write to it just fine now.

Next, after some help from Google, I went to terminal and typed
"defaults write com.apple.systempreferences TMShowUnsupportedNetworkVolumes 1" (without the quotes)