New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Windows Guru with Mac Mini

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

pluggy

The Mac Mini is working bringing in windows converts - I'm one.

I want a machine I can recommend to users (I'm a PC Network Manager in a school) that isn't going to be infected with crap a week after they first surf the internet with it. I spend a lot of time 'delousing' PCs infected with the virus/spyware/malware cocktail that hangs around on todays internet. Its looking good, It does Web browsing, Email and Microsoft Office without a hitch which is pretty much what teachers use PCs for.

I've a couple of queries.

What are the Command and Options keys on a windows Keybaord ?

Why do Mac mice only have one button when 'right click' seems to do quite a bit in OSX ?

What is a good cheap/free SSH client to use ?

Is there a cheap/free Image editer where I can specify an image size in pixels ?

Thanks for your time

Stephen T
QUOTE Thanks
bassplayrr

bassplayrr will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: 20" G5 iMac; 14.1" G4 iBook; 60Gig iPod Video

For a good, free image editing program I would reccomend Gimp. It is an X11 program so it can be a little slow to start up at first, but you really can't beat it for a free program.

-Chris
QUOTE Thanks
pluggy