Uninstalling programmes

Uninstalling programmes
    Hi

I am a newbie and who was a windows user of nearly 10 years. so however my Macbook pro 13 inch is great, I am having difficulties.

My first question is: after installing a program, if i want to remove it what should i do? I searched System Preferences but couldn't see anything.

Second one is: When I run a application it delivers a white file to my desktop. Than it disappears and sometimes i delete it. This white file means what?

Third one and the least (for now) : After letting macbook 1 or 2 minutes to its own, desktop light runs low all of a sudden. I tried to change that from the energy saver preferences but it keeps working as the same. thanks from now.

Uninstalling programmes
    Specs:
    iMac i5 2.7GHz, 16GB memory, OS 10.10.5
    G'day madam and welcome to the forums.

1. If the program/application comes with an uninstaller use that.

2. Download a utility such as AppTrap, install, and simply drag the program/application to the trash and AppTrap removes all subsidiary files, extensions etc. Empty Trash.

3. The white file is simply an alias of the program/application that has been installed.

4. Depends on what the program was. Sometimes may be in Applications, or Utilities.

5. Not a laptop user however seems to be a way of conserving power.

Uninstalling programmes
    Specs:
    2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)
    1. If the program comes with an uninstaller, use that. If it doesn't, you can simply drag it to the Trash.

2. Can I assume that you are talking about the icon at the bottom of this picture? If so, it is a disk image. Many Mac applications come in a disk image, which is mounted as a virtual disk (what that icon represents). There is no need to know the details - simply copy what you need and drag it to the Trash (which becomes the eject symbol) which will eject the disk image.