Choosing a Laptop
    Hello, Mac aficionados

I'm a college student looking for a laptop for basic word processing, lots of photoshop, music, internet, and a little bit of video editing.

Plus, I need to be able to play Diablo III when it comes out.

Storage isn't an issue because I live off of my external hard drive.

Any suggestions?
    I'll sacrifice a little speed for price
    My grants can only stretch so far.

Probably the MacBook 13" is your lowest common denominator. For video editing, and Diablo III, you definitely would need discreet graphics, which older 13" MacBooks did not have. The newer ones do have discreet graphics though.

If I were you, I would go for the 13" MacBook Pro though. It has the aluminum body, which is tougher for everyday use, and it has a faster processor, SD card reader, better battery (can be recharged 1000 times instead of only 300 times, meaning it will last 3 times longer). And it only costs about $200.00 more. To me this is the best compromise between money vs best features.

After reading this thread:
    http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/app...tml#post819443
    maybe I should revise my advice. I had no idea that the lid was that easy to dent!
    2007 13" white Macbook, 2 Ghz Core2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, Snow Leopard w/ 250 GB Samsung 840 SSD
    32 GB WIFI iPad Mini
    Panasonic CF-30, 4 GB RAM, Win7/Ubuntu12.04LTS, 180GB Intel SSD

Specs:
    21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
    Really, it's not as long as you're careful. Compared to the number of people who have had no issues with their MBP's getting dented, I'd say odds are in your favor if you get one. But if you KNOW you're going to be toting it around in your knapsack a lot, get the white Macbook. I'd say a MBP is for professionals who'll be putting it in proper case/sleeve/bag and using it as a portable desktop machine rather than a "laptop".