e-mail account hijacked
    Hi everyone!

I'm new here. Glad to find you.

I've been using a Mac OS X since January. A couple weeks ago my e-mail account was hijacked. I'm now receiving spam from my own e-mail (to my same e-mail). This is my main e-mail account, hosted by my local ISP. I'd rather keep that account because is the one most of my clients / prospects know (I work as a freelancer).

I checked with my ISP. They suggested changing PW. Tried it; doesn't work. They now say I need good spyware.

My two questions are:
    1- With my bare Mac, can I check for installed malware?

2- Is there any software beyond Mac's own firewall that will prevent e-mail hijacking?

TIA,

hamaca

Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    Quote Originally Posted by hamaca View Post
    Hi everyone!

I'm new here. Glad to find you.

I've been using a Mac OS X since January. A couple weeks ago my e-mail account was hijacked. I'm now receiving spam from my own e-mail (to my same e-mail). This is my main e-mail account, hosted by my local ISP. I'd rather keep that account because is the one most of my clients / prospects know (I work as a freelancer).

I checked with my ISP. They suggested changing PW. Tried it; doesn't work. They now say I need good spyware.
    They were correct on the first count. The second you may have misunderstood. What they were referring to is "Anti-Spyware". These are products that remove Spyware infestations.

My two questions are:
    1- With my bare Mac, can I check for installed malware?
    There is one Mac anti-spyware product, but since there is almost no spyware for Macs, aside from keyloggers, it's probably not worth your time.

2- Is there any software beyond Mac's own firewall that will prevent e-mail hijacking?

TIA,

hamaca