New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

I finally splurged and bought a macbook

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

therookielot

therookielot is on a distinguished road

Yo, I'm new to not only the community, but also the macworld. After years of using windows, and with the disgust with vista, I decided to get a macbook. I got at the deer park Illinois store with my corporate discount. I made the decision to upgrade the HD(500 gb) on my own...Well my friend put it in, but I watched. I transferred all my files and said goodbye to the windows world this morning(except I'm at work now on a windows based computer ). Anything suggestions for a newbie to macs? What kinda freebie programs does everyone have?

My name's Kenny by the way!
QUOTE Thanks
Quiara

Quiara has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: 2.4GHz aluminum unibody, 250 GB HD, 2GB RAM

Hi, Kenny!

Congratulations on your purchase. What sorts of things do you want to be able to do with your Mac? That will help a lot with software suggestions. There are lots of freeware and inexpensive programs out there, but we can make better suggestions if you give us an idea of what types you're looking for.

Enjoy your MacBook.

::Forum Rules::My Twitter::My LJ::

2.4GHz MacBook (uni)/250GB HD/2GB RAM8GB iPod nano 3GenBB Curve 8310
QUOTE Thanks
therookielot