New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Another Switcher. Hopefully I won't be disappointed

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Bubba

Well,
I am new to the whole Mac experience. Having been a Windows Server admin for 5 years, and now a SAN / AIX professional, I am no slouch when it comes to computers. Heck I even have a few IRIX boxes at home.

However, I recently became a father and wanted an easy to capture my childs first moments on film. So, I bought a mini DV recorder and an AIW card for the Athlon64 machine. It proved to be such a pain in the butt that I havent taken very much footage. Not to mention the editing software.

So, I guess I bought into the whole 'it works right out of the box' concept that Apple has been spouting all these years.
I went to Apple's website and purchased a Dual 2.0 PM g5 from their certified stock. Figured that it was the same price as a new Dual 1.8, and came with 512 RAM instead of the stock 256.
So with credit card in tow, went out to newegg, plopped down the money fer another 1024Mb of RAM, and a 250Gb SATA drive, as well as a new 12ms 19" LCD.
So after purchasing all this crud, to "make my life easier" I'm sure I will appear the dumbass for not knowing alot as I ask questions, so please bear with me.