New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Saving images for desktop wallpaper

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

jeffreyk

jeffreyk is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Mac Pro, Quad Core 2.8GHz, 10GB Ram, nVidia 8800GT Video Card, 500GB HDD, and One 16x Super Drive

I'm new to Macs so I'm sorry about asking this very basic question (on Windows I never had this problem, but I'm finding it difficult to get this right on my new Mac). I want to create a folder for desktop images to re-use over time. I'm using Safari and not Firefox or any other non-Mac browser.

Anyway, every time I try to save a wallpaper image (.jpg format) to use for my wallpaper I never can get it to open correctly to use as my desktop wallpaper. When I right click on the image my Mac/system asks me if I want to use as Desktop Image (so that's working fine and I can use the image for the desktop at that moment), but when I save the image in my Downloads folder, and try to open the .jpg image at a later time, I get the preview view, but when I right click I don't get the option to use the image for my "Desktop Image."

So, what am I doing wrong and how do I get this to work.

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
Greyspot Design

Greyspot Design is on a distinguished road