New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Need help downgrading from 10.5 to 10.4

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

bhoup

bhoup is on a distinguished road

Hello. I'm fairly new to mac and I need to downgrade from 10.5 to 10.4. I put in the black disc labeled "Mac OS X Tiger 10.4.6 Install DVD" but it tells me "Mac OS X 10.4 cannot be installed on this machine." Anyone know other ways to try?

Thanks!
Brent
QUOTE Thanks
ADKhikerVW

ADKhikerVW is a jewel in the roughADKhikerVW is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 15" Unibody MBP (2009), White MB (2009), iMac G4

What kind of Mac are you trying to install this on? If it came with Leopard originally, you cannot downgrade, as Macs will only run on the system they shipped with or higher.
QUOTE Thanks
Eric559

Eric559 is a glorious beacon of lightEric559 is a glorious beacon of lightEric559 is a glorious beacon of lightEric559 is a glorious beacon of lightEric559 is a glorious beacon of lightEric559 is a glorious beacon of light
Mac Specs: 2.16GHz C2D MacBook w/ 2GB RAM & 120GB HD. HTC Droid Incredible.

Why are you trying to downgrade?

Member Of The Month for December '08.
It's only the internet!
QUOTE Thanks
bhoup

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADKhikerVW View Post