New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Confusion on External Hard Drives: from PC to Mac

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

beesum

beesum is on a distinguished road

Hi Everyone!
I am new to my Macbook. I just bought it two weeks ago and I have a few questions. I am honestly an inexperienced Mac user. By now, I've gotten used to the mousepad, finder and bittorrent...and that's about it. Oh and photobooth.

I only have 120 GB of space on this mama and I bought an external hard drive so I can transfer/keep my files/music/movies/photos from my PC laptop (Asus).

The external hard drive I bought is a Seagate portable 160 GB (Free Agent Go). I want to be able transfer all my documents (movies, music, photos, etc) to the hard drive, and then some of it into the new Macbook and then back up stuff from my Mac onto the hard drive. The problem is that I don't know how to do that and if someone can dumb stuff down for me about FAT32 and what that all means, that would be great!

Also, I don't want to have to buy an internal hard drive. I'm still under Apple's one year warranty and I intend to use it up and then decide whether I want more coverage. If I change the hard drive, they won't cover it.