Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    @ The Apple Store Tonight
    Specs:
    13" Macbook Aluminum with 4GB / MacMini / 160GB Ipod Classic / 8GB Ipod Touch
    Tonight I took a trip to the local Apple store to put my hands on the new MacBook to try and figure out what I would like to get. I am currently shopping to replace my PC laptop with a new Mac for for work. As an account manager for a local imaging/computer supply company, I travel (local) a great deal and use my laptop daily. The main purpose would be e-mail and having quotes and specs on hand. I currently work from home and have a very nice desktop PC that I do not wish to replace and recently purchased a mac mini for the purpose of getting to know the mac OS.

My thought on the way to the store was a new 13-inch macBook 2.0 GHz with an upgrade to 4GB of DDR3 and a 250GB Drive; however, then i started playing with the MacBook Air!

I think that this would be a great laptop but the fact that I can only get 2GB scares me (like i said I am new to the mac world). When I purchased my Mac Mini I upgraded that to 2GB when i got home and it seams to be fine with everything that i have used it for.

What I am looking for is your thoughts on the MacBook vs. MacBook Air.

Lack of Ports (does this bother you)
    Battery (Air would have to be changed at the Apple Store)
    Performance Difference ????
    2GB vs 4GB

The optical drive does not sound like a problem as i do not use it on the road.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and comments!

Specs:
    MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
    What kind of programs are you using for your work?

Specs:
    Most of it is MS Excel, but I do have a copy of office for mac so i do not think that will be a big deal.

Specs:
    MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB