Specs:
    15in MBP - 27in iMac - iPhone
    External HD: PC & Mac
    Hey everyone,

I just got my first MPB and i am new to the mac OS.

I picked up a 1TB external drive today and i want to use it both on my PC and Mac.

My PC has about 300gb of pictures (I'm a photography), and i want to put them on the External HD...

a) to make room on my internal drives.
    b) so i can view/edit on my MBP

Right now i am formatting it using Windows Disk Management. But my question is, after i dump all the images onto the drive. Am i going to be able to view them on my MBP?

Let me know what you think.

Thanks,
    Tom.

If the drive is formatted in NTFS, then OS X can only read the drive, not write to it. To get OS X to write to NTFS-formatted drives, you can either buy Paragon NTFS for the Mac or use a free open-source alternative called NTFS-3G.

Alternatively, you could format the external drive using FAT32, which OS X can read/write to, but I don't recommend it. It's an antiquated file system that is very inefficient with space, especially at that size of a drive (if it's even supported on a drive that big... not sure actually) and with OS X, there's a risk of permanent data loss if such drives aren't "ejected" properly before disconnecting.

I highly recommend against using FAT32. If you need OS X to be able to write to the drive, then use NTFS and get one of the software items that enable OS X to write to that.

Please verify and include the exact model/year of your Mac and OS X version number (available from "About This Mac", then "More Info" on the Apple menu).
    ------
    Links: Onyx | EasyFind | Apple Hardware Test | How to test your hard drive | The Safe Mac Adware Removal Guide | Uninstall MacKeeper
    ------
    Lifeisabeach - Mac-Forums Member of the Month June 2009, Feb 2012, and March 2013.