New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

So my main computer is finally a mac...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

josh28

josh28 is on a distinguished road

I'm a Windows desktop support technician and I've been working with windows since version 3.0. I've been a casual mac user for the past 6 years since I came across an iMac with OSX 10.0 in one of the computer labs at the college I used to work for. I started out with a Beige Mac G3. Then I replaced it with a 1ghz Powermac G4. Then when my p3 laptop broke I bought a powerbook. About a year ago I replaced my powerbook and work laptop with a Macbook. The ability to run both windows and osx finally convinced me to replace my primary system with a mac . This week I purchased an 8 core Mac Pro to replace the Xeon 3350 quad core system I built back in March. I hate vista, and I've been using xp64 but it's been flaky lately. I've had such a good experience with leopard I finally decided to go all the way. While waiting for my Mac Pro to arrive, I've switched completely to osx aside from work and have discovered a few things I miss about windows and hope to find alternatives for. I've searched the web but have not found any solutions for these issues. First, I'm really missing flashmute. I hate it when my browser decides to interrupt the music I'm listening to or v