New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Schweb's Lounge Forum for general conversation, chit chat, or most topics that don't fit in another forum.

iMac - Should I buy a iMac or wait a bit?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

gobiwaq

gobiwaq is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: ibook g4

Newbie apologises in advance.........

I've been using my ibook g4 for about 2 years. I bought a laptop because I thought I would be on the move- but in the end that wasn't the case. My g4 isnt performing as well as it used to and I've been editing movies so I'm thinking of getting an iMac.

Thing is, I'm worried 12months down the line its going to be replaced by something better.
I scoured the internet but found nothing definite.

Is it a good time to buy do you think?
QUOTE Thanks
moss918

moss918 is just really nicemoss918 is just really nicemoss918 is just really nicemoss918 is just really nicemoss918 is just really nice
Mac Specs: iMac 2.93C2D 4GB

Definitely get it now, or wait for Leopard. If the worst case scenario you pointed out
Quote:
12months down the line its going to be replaced by something better.
Actually happens then you've had the use of a great machine for a whole year and it is still a great machine. There will always be something better released at some point, all you need to worry about is if the machine you have suits your needs - it will probably still do so in a years time.

Basicly, if you worry about what's due out next year you will have your ibook forever.
QUOTE Thanks
Alexis