Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Schweb's Lounge (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/schwebs-lounge/)
-   -   I need help (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/schwebs-lounge/48235-i-need-help.html)

tynen 12-26-2006 06:36 AM

I need help

Hey I'm a complete noob to Mac, I just got Mac OS X for Christmas and I am trying to install Fire Fox, I downloaded the file, it was in dmg format, which I was expecting. However, i don't know what to do with it, the only thing I've been able to do is mount it, and run Fire Fox from the mounted file, but I want to actually install it, how do I do that?

SunsetRoadzter 12-26-2006 06:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tynen (Post 292842)
Hey I'm a complete noob to Mac, I just got Mac OS X for Christmas and I am trying to install Fire Fox, I downloaded the file, it was in dmg format, which I was expecting. However, i don't know what to do with it, the only thing I've been able to do is mount it, and run Fire Fox from the mounted file, but I want to actually install it, how do I do that?

Drag the Firefox icon from the mounted drive window to your applications folder that will install it on your hard drive.

eric 12-26-2006 06:38 AM

once the dmg is open, you'll see one or more files in a new window.

drag the firefox icon to your applications folder.
you could also create a firefox folder in the applications folder to hold the app and/or any doco that was in the dmg also.

once the app is in your applications folder. you can "eject" the dmg from the top left pane in finder, then if you like trash the dmg file or archive it.

you can also drag the app from the app folder to your dock which will create a "shortcut" on the dock.

tynen 12-26-2006 06:48 AM

Thank you both. ^_^ So where will all of my extentions and such go? just wondering if you guys know

tynen 12-26-2006 06:49 AM