New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Schweb's Lounge Forum for general conversation, chit chat, or most topics that don't fit in another forum.

Potential Switcher - rookie questions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

AZMark

Hi - appologies for my TOTAL lack of MAC knowledge!!!

Thinking of switching my old tired desktop PC for a shiny new MacBook Pro 15.4, with 2Gb RAM. My biggest concern is my current investment in PC software. I am an amateur digitial photographer (part of the rationale to switch to a laptop), and currently use the PC version of Photoshop CS2, along with other PC photo utilities.

Questions:
1. Will PC programs run in some sort of "emulation mode" under OS X on an Intel-based platform?
2. If I installed PARALLELS, with a Windows XP instance, would CS2 execute at anywhere near the speed of a Mac version? Would it work well enough to be practical in the field?
3. Data files. I have a LOT of Microsoft Office-based data files. Is there an analog in OS X, which would be able to open PC-based documents?
4. USB 2.0. I have many USB external devices - does the MacBook Pro provide sufficient current to drive most portable drives? Will external drives currently used on my PC be recognized automatically, or will some configuration be required.

I appologize for the "rookie" questions - I'm trying to make sure that a switch is practical for me.

Thank you all in advance....!!!
QUOTE Thanks
kman445