I just got an iMac G5, how do you get it to work?
    Hi everyone I'm new here.
    I've been given an imac g5 and need some advice as I'm also new to apple software & hardware but have experience on windows software & hardware. Now that I've been given this machine its finally given me a kick up the **** to use a apple device, haha.

The problem is that before it was given to me the hard-drive had been wiped (on a windows pc, I believe) so when you turn it on you get a grey screen with a folder flashing between a question mark and mac logo, what do I need to get or do to make this machine work?

Another problem is that I think there's a CD in drive because I cant fit discs in. How do you eject? There's no button I've read on google you hold down certain commands on the keyboard while its booting up to eject, but it doesn't work for me.

Which leads to a question about keyboards and mice.
    Can you use windows keyboards and mice on the imac g5 or apple computers in general? Although the keybords commands didnt work for me, I did get into the "BootROM" or "Open Firmware" (looks like dos) by holding the power button down. But I couldn't type using my windows keyboard

So to end, any advice or point in the right direction would be much appreciated
    I'm looking forward to using the machine, but at the moment I'm constantly scratching my head when searching on google as I cant really find a consistent answer.

Many thanks in advance.

Oh yeah the specs, imac g5 20"/2.0/512mb/250gb/super/56k/bt/ap

To eject the disc:
    How to Eject a Disk on Startup in an iMac | eHow

I'm not 100% sure a Windows keyboard will work on the pre-intel Macs, but I think they will. Almost any mouse will work fine.

As for installing an OS, you'll need an installation disc for OS X. Hopefully that's what's in the drive. If not, you'll have to buy one, and copies for a Mac that old are actually rather expensive.

Specs: