New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Schweb's Lounge Forum for general conversation, chit chat, or most topics that don't fit in another forum.

Do your friends give you grief for switching to Mac?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Lastmboy

Lastmboy will become famous soon enough

This is just a fun one. I've been a Windows business application developer for over 25 years. A little over a year ago I made the switch to a 27" iMac, and I'm now working my way into being a Mac-based web developer (no fun programming in Windows anymore ).

I LOVE my iMac. So much so that I'm now the proud owner of a Mac Mini and a Mac Pro. I used to be very anti-Apple, but now am seeing benefits even in the things I slammed Macs for before. I am so much more productive now, and I love working on the Mac. It's fun again. It hardly feels like "work", anymore.

However, I'm now the only "outsider" in a huge herd of Windows programmers. You would not believe the harassment I take. I try to explain why the Mac is so good, but nobody listens. I have to think that I was like that at one time. I think you actually have to USE a Mac before you "get it". That's what got me.

Anyways, just wondering if I'm the only that takes harassment for the switch, or if there are others that get harassed by the Windows crowd.

27" iMac 3.4GHz I7, Mac Pro, Mac Mini, iPad Air, iPhone 5S, Apple TV (3rd generation), iPod Classic
QUOTE Thanks
chscag