Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Schweb's Lounge (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/schwebs-lounge/)
-   -   Old Mac PowerPC G3 situation... (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/schwebs-lounge/28686-old-mac-powerpc-g3-situation.html)

phatts50 01-09-2006 06:57 AM

Old Mac PowerPC G3 situation...
 
ok, so i inherited this old g3 that was running OS 8.5 and i found an upgrade to 8.6 online. i upgraded and now it says that my usb mouse (running off of a usb card, pci most likely) cannot be used because it requires too much power... so my question is:

If I get a copy of OS X, will the computer boot straight from the cd or would I have to find a serial or PS/2 mouse to use to set the startup disk to the OS X cd?

Specs for the G3:

300MHz processor
384MB RAM
30Gig hdd

Thanks all.

jhelm007 01-11-2006 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phatts50
ok, so i inherited this old g3 that was running OS 8.5 and i found an upgrade to 8.6 online. i upgraded and now it says that my usb mouse (running off of a usb card, pci most likely) cannot be used because it requires too much power... so my question is:

If I get a copy of OS X, will the computer boot straight from the cd or would I have to find a serial or PS/2 mouse to use to set the startup disk to the OS X cd?

Specs for the G3:

300MHz processor
384MB RAM
30Gig hdd

Thanks all.

If your G3 has no built in USB ports, you should be able to use an ADB (apple desktop bus) mouse. These can be had cheap on ebay. then you can install updated USB extensions or drivers for the card or the usb mouse or whatever. If your G3 has built in USB ports, try those.

good luck.

jhelm007 01-11-2006 08:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phatts50
ok, so i inherited this old g3 that was running OS 8.5 and i found an upgrade to 8.6 online. i upgraded and now it says that my usb mouse (running off of a usb card, pci most likely) cannot be used because it requires too much power... so my question is:

If I get a copy of OS X, will the computer boot straight from the cd or would I have to find a serial or PS/2 mouse to use to set the startup disk to the OS X cd?

Specs for the G3:

300MHz processor
384MB RAM
30Gig hdd

Thanks all.

Oh and as for your other problem if your G3 is blue you can install most any flavor of OSX, if it is beige I'm not sure it will run anything over 10.2 'Jaguar' so you need to check that out before you spend any $$. good luck.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.