Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Specs:
    MBP 3.06Ghz, MBP 2.2Ghz, Mini G4, B/W G3 (Media Server), LCII, Beige G3
    I have never been so dissatisfied with Applecare
    To open this up I've had some really great experiences with applecare. They replaced the logic board on my ibook twice and then when they found that it was just not doing it they sent me a free macbook pro. That's amazing service.

I have only had one mishap with my MBP that I've needed to send it in for so far. The superdrive stopped functioning and I sent my MBP in and they replaced it no issue.

Now comes the part that blows me away. Today I called apple care because my lcd has a few (3-4) broken, stuck or multicolored pixels. I assume this would not be an issue and they would replace or repair the lcd. Here's the convo...

Me: Hey I just wanted to see if I could get my screen repaired, I have 3 or 4 broken pixels...etc etc

Rep: Well sir, I'm sorry to inform you that Apple considers 5 or less broken pixels acceptable use, you are welcome to take your mbp to a repair center and have them check to see if there are more than 5 pixels stuck.

Me: I don't understand how that could be acceptable? It's a 2500$ laptop that I paid 349$ for the applecare warranty. For basically 3000$ I would expect it to be in complete working condition. The pixels are distracting.

Rep: I don't see how 4 tiny little pixels could be distracting to you...

Me: Well I find it distracting and that should be all that matters, not your opinion of how distracting it is, besides I don't see anywhere in my applecare agreement that 3-5 pixels is acceptable, nor do I see it in any other documentation I have gone over.

Rep: Sorry, policy is policy.

Me: Policy? Never mind I've just arrived at work I will call again tomorrow.
    Now obviously I only paid for the 350$ warranty and basically the 1500$ it was for my ibook, but still...for the 3000$ it would have been costing me how can anything but perfect be acceptable?

Specs: