New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Schweb's Lounge Forum for general conversation, chit chat, or most topics that don't fit in another forum.

What is the best HDTV to use as a monitor for the Mac Pro for graphic design?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Brain Krutz

Brain Krutz is on a distinguished road

Greetings, I am a photographer, amateur graphic/web designer located around the NYC metropolitan area. It is my first time posting on the forum and I'd appreciate it if anyone could steer me in the right direction..

I just purchased a brand new Mac Pro - pretty standard except with an upgraded graphics card [NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512M]. What is the best 30"+ Flat Screen HDTV I should purchase to accompany it as a monitor? I intend on using it mostly for photoshop and dreamweaver but also to use the TV to hook up to basic cable provided by my college campus. For what I need I am looking at an LCD HDTV monitor, with the best possible resolution, right? Also what is the best way to hook this up without sacrificing quality?

I know a common issue with LCD monitors when it comes to design work is color calibration, but I have an additional smaller dell flat screen monitor to use in order to combat that minor annoyance.

Thank you for any tips or suggestions on what specifications I should be looking for when purchasing this TV. Have any specific brands or models that you personally recommend?

Best Regards,

Krutz
QUOTE Thanks
PowerBookG4