Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/running-windows-anything-else-your-mac/)
-   -   Windows .exe applications on mac. (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/running-windows-anything-else-your-mac/45493-windows-exe-applications-mac.html)

Data 11-18-2006 08:22 PM

Windows .exe applications on mac.
 
Hi,

I want to run a windows application called darkbasic(see www.darkbasi.com) on my intel based mac. Only problem I have is that I have no idea which way I should go about doing this, and obviously I wnat to save as much money as possible as this is pretty much the only windows program I want to run so I don't really want to spend over $100 on running it. However, just a note, I do have a windows xp service pack 1 reinstall cd from my dell computer, if I was to use bootcmap, would this work? or do I need to buy a whole new operating system cd?

NanoBite 11-18-2006 08:33 PM

You'll need Windows XP install cd which has to also include SP 1 & 2. You could certainly run this app using Bootcamp or Parallels. Bootcamp is Beta so is unsupported by Apple (this could have changed recently, don't know myself) and I believe is also free but you need to reboot from XP to OS X. Parallels allows you to run XP on the desktop in it's own window and would be easier but you have to pay for Parallels.

Data 11-18-2006 08:52 PM

is there anwya of obtaining a service pack 2 upgrade, or must you buy a whole new cd?

NanoBite 11-19-2006 12:27 AM

It's available for free download on Microsofts website.

That download and the relevant information you need to go from there is found here:

http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase...slipstream.asp

WannaMacPro 11-19-2006 10:27 AM

There is a program called CrossOver that allows windows .exe's to run in OSX. But it isnt the easiest thing and doesnt always work correct.

gblader 11-20-2006 01:40 PM

If you go into the Mac Store, there is a parallel software that runs for $89. I heard something about MacWare. But I don't know if it lets you run the two OS system side by side.

hclincha 11-23-2006 01:15 PM

Depending on what the program needs, you can get away with using either Darwine or CrossOver. Darwine can be a bit of a hazzle to use, CrossOver is much easier, but costs money. Parallels works great, even though it gives you some overhead 'cause of the extra OS. You should be able to use the XP SP1, but you'll have to make a new CD.

This is what I could find on merging the CD with SP2. That requires a bit of mucking about on a windows computer though, but from the looks of it, there's no other way.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.