New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

Recommended partition size for MBA 128gb/ W8 pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

banditsw

banditsw is on a distinguished road

Hello. I would like to request forum members' input on amount of hard drive space to partition to install Windows 8 professional.

I have a mid-2011 MBA with 128 gb. I would like to retain the recovery partition for OSX. I installed Windows 8 professional using boot camp, and partitioned 30 gb for the boot camp/windows 8 partition, following the recommendation in the official Apple bootcamp instructions.

After installing Windows 8, I loaded MS Word and Excel 2013. After doing so, I attempted to do Windows system updates and App updates but was unable to do so. I received a message in which it was advised that my updates failed because there was lack of hard drive space.

I checked the boot camp partition by right clicking properties. It indicated that I used all of my hard drive space on that partition.

What are your thoughts on the amount of space to partition in light of the following?:

1. I intend to use OSX as the primary OS
2. I intend to use Windows 8 primarily to edit documents in Word and maybe light Excel use
3. I would like to have enough space for System/App future updates
4. I would like to have some (not much) hard drive space to store documents