Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1


    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2012
    Posts
    7
    Clone Windows 7 from Laptop onto Bootcamp partition
    Hi all,

    I was wondering if what I had planned will work.

    Install Windows 7 to bootcamp partition then I would have to install the mac windows drivers...

    After that I was thinking I would use winclone to copy my windows 7 partition from my gateway laptop onto the bootcamp partition, after which, I would have to reinstall the mac windows drivers because the initial W7 install will be wiped in the process.

    Is there a set sequence it goes through, as in, if it has already copied the drivers once, it won't do it again or will it just recognize that the drivers are not there and ask for the disc again.

    Are there any other snags I should be aware of with this?

    As for the windows license, I don't plan on using the Gateway laptop after this so there will be technically only one copy of the software in use.

    I need to do this so I can run my adobe software eg. Premiere on a faster computer than the gateway but I don't have the mac versions.

    Thanks for any help.

    Steve

  2. #2

    chscag's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    48,250
    Specs:
    Late 2013 27" iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 6s+, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, El Capitan
    First, the Gateway license for Windows 7 is an OEM license specific for the Gateway machine and can not be used on any other machine. That would be in violation of the MS EULA. Second, it won't work anyway since in order for it to install properly and function, the copy of Windows 7 must either be a full install MS boxed copy or a full install OEM System Builder's copy.

  3. #3

    cwa107's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location
    Lake Mary, Florida
    Posts
    26,887
    Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    Yep, to add onto what chscag already said, that's just not the way Boot Camp works. Boot Camp simply facilitates the installation of Windows natively on your Mac.

    With that said, products like VMWare Fusion and Parallels Desktop have so called "P2V" features (Physical to Virtual) that will encapsulate an existing physical machine and port it into a VM. In this way, you'll need to retire the Windows installation on the Gateway machine, but you can take absolutely everything with you very easily.
    Liquid and computers don't mix. It might seem simple, but we see an incredible amount of people post here about spills. Keep drinks and other liquids away from your expensive electronics!

    https://youtu.be/KHZ8ek-6ccc

  4. #4


    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2012
    Posts
    7
    Ok,

    Thanks for the replies.

    I wondered about sufficient mac drivers not being on my clone install but thought maybe I could do a repair with the windows 7 disc.

    Anyway, I didn't want to go with parallels or vmware because of reports of being slow operating both of the OS on the machine but I have read some posts here and they are the contrary... no slow down etc. This MBP is a significant upgrade from the gateway so even if the virtual machine is a little slower than running natively, it should still be an improvement over the Gateway.

    Is there a quick list of pros vs. cons of the two softwares: Parallels and VMWare?

    Thanks again.

    REally enjoying the new MBP.

  5. #5


    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2012
    Posts
    7
    I decided to go with Virtualbox (can't beat the price) and make an image of my Gateway disk with Acronis and convert the tib image with VMware Convertor. With any luck I'll be running windows on this mac sometime tomorrow.

    Thanks for the help!

  6. #6

    cwa107's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location
    Lake Mary, Florida
    Posts
    26,887
    Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    Quote Originally Posted by macandsteve View Post
    I decided to go with Virtualbox (can't beat the price) and make an image of my Gateway disk with Acronis and convert the tib image with VMware Convertor. With any luck I'll be running windows on this mac sometime tomorrow.

    Thanks for the help!
    Let us know how you make out with that, I hadn't heard of that approach until now.
    Liquid and computers don't mix. It might seem simple, but we see an incredible amount of people post here about spills. Keep drinks and other liquids away from your expensive electronics!

    https://youtu.be/KHZ8ek-6ccc

  7. #7

    harryb2448's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    Posts
    21,873
    Specs:
    Imac 27" Retina 3.3GHz, 512GB Flash, 16GB memory, OS X.11.4.
    Interesting macandsteve.

    Have used Acronis True Image and not really that impressed with it. Maybe too used to SuperDuper. Would imagine you will run into trouble when it comes to activation which is still required with Bootcamp.
    Hang on to those original install discs like grim death! Using OS X.7 or later make a bootable USB thumb drive before running Installer!

  8. #8

    cwa107's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location
    Lake Mary, Florida
    Posts
    26,887
    Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    Quote Originally Posted by harryb2448 View Post
    Interesting macandsteve.

    Have used Acronis True Image and not really that impressed with it.
    Earlier incarnations of Acronis were quite awesome. After I updated to "True Image Home 2010", I was less impressed. They dumbed the UI down and made it difficult to do a lot of the more common tasks that those of us accustomed to PQDI and Ghost were used to.

    Maybe too used to SuperDuper. Would imagine you will run into trouble when it comes to activation which is still required with Bootcamp.
    He's using VirtualBox, but that's a valid point. I know Fusion (and probably Parallels) has hooks that take care of product activation issues. Not so sure about VB, which is relatively immature.
    Liquid and computers don't mix. It might seem simple, but we see an incredible amount of people post here about spills. Keep drinks and other liquids away from your expensive electronics!

    https://youtu.be/KHZ8ek-6ccc

  9. #9

    harryb2448's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    Posts
    21,873
    Specs:
    Imac 27" Retina 3.3GHz, 512GB Flash, 16GB memory, OS X.11.4.
    Keep us posted on your progress macandsteve. It is one of those things one learns by others experiences.
    Hang on to those original install discs like grim death! Using OS X.7 or later make a bootable USB thumb drive before running Installer!

  10. #10


    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2012
    Posts
    7
    Well, after some fits and starts, I am finally getting a vmdk file transferred to the mbp.

    Acronis faled 8 minutes after I left it to do it's work for the night, second attempt this morning failed as well. ran checkdisk and found one bad sector. After that, acronis would no longer run properly on the gateway (couldn't find localhost) so I pulled the Hd and put it in an enclosure and use acronis on a work computer. I found out that our acronis also does the conversion directly to VMDK so I ran it with that option and that is the file that I am copying ATM. It's going to be a while to copy a 218 GB file over the network so we shall see how it unfolds tomorrow.

  11. #11


    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2012
    Posts
    7
    Looks like I have another flaw. When I made the backup I only backed up the OS partition and it looks like I should have done the whole disk. I wondered about that. It doesn't look like there is any way to get into the boot.ini to change it at this point. back to square one.

  12. #12


    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2012
    Posts
    7
    At last!

    The Acronis VMDK image is working perfectly. I may have to download some drivers like video card etc. so I can get proper resolutions but other than that it is working.

    It didn't start up at first but I went into the settings and enabled "Enable IO APIC" and changed the boot sequence to "hard disk" only and it started after that.

    Thanks for the suggestions and advice.

  13. #13

    cwa107's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location
    Lake Mary, Florida
    Posts
    26,887
    Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    The guest tools in VirtualBox should address all of the needed drivers. Did you force the install yet?
    Liquid and computers don't mix. It might seem simple, but we see an incredible amount of people post here about spills. Keep drinks and other liquids away from your expensive electronics!

    https://youtu.be/KHZ8ek-6ccc

  14. #14


    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2012
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by cwa107 View Post
    The guest tools in VirtualBox should address all of the needed drivers. Did you force the install yet?
    I will have to do some poking around later; at work at the moment. I have not seen anything like 'guest tools' in VB. Newb question, how do you force the install?

  15. #15

    cwa107's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2006
    Location
    Lake Mary, Florida
    Posts
    26,887
    Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    Quote Originally Posted by macandsteve View Post
    I will have to do some poking around later; at work at the moment. I have not seen anything like 'guest tools' in VB. Newb question, how do you force the install?
    I assume it's similar to VMWare Fusion - but if you run the VM in windowed mode, you should have a menu where you can "install guest tools" or something to that effect.
    Liquid and computers don't mix. It might seem simple, but we see an incredible amount of people post here about spills. Keep drinks and other liquids away from your expensive electronics!

    https://youtu.be/KHZ8ek-6ccc

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Will windows partition/bootcamp be okay?
    By jtstp17 in forum Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2014, 11:59 PM
  2. Create Windows partition w/o BootCamp
    By boudewijnpleij in forum Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-18-2012, 07:25 AM
  3. Best way to "clone" existing windows 7 partition to MAC
    By Lingothedawg in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-19-2011, 03:14 PM
  4. Copy Bootcamp Windows to new partition
    By wifler in forum Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 07:46 PM
  5. Backing up the BootCamp Windows Partition
    By StateRd84 in forum Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-28-2009, 05:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •