New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

ProEngineer Creo on Parallels 7

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

whupass

whupass is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 17" MBP A1151

Hello,

I'm an engineering student.
I've got a 2011 17"mbp.
8gb ram.
Parallels 7
Windows 7 (32bit)
and I'm running Lion.

I've been running windows seven in parralels for about the last 7-8 months using Pro Engineer Creo package. (3d CAD)

I've allocated the maximum ram towindows that I can. Are you able to allocate more cores?

I find that when swapping between Lion and Windows while using Creo the picture will start to flicker in windows. Sections of the window will swap between black and the image it should show. Sometimes it's a pattern of pixelation. I'll try to get a screen capture of it. The only solution i've found for this is to swap to lion and force quit the program, sometimes the whole VM.

Sometimes the whole computer freezes adn teh only solution is a forced reboot. (holding the power button for 5 seconds)

These are all incredibly annoying. I've literally spent hundreds of hours using this program this year and it's become quite a chore.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a solution? Can this be fixed in the parallels settings?

Please let me know if you think I left details out.