New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

Can't save windows 7 to anywhere?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

calumaalawrie

calumaalawrie is on a distinguished road

I am a Mac novice and tried to download a genuine copy of Windows 7 to my Mac. I wasn't sure how much partition to give Windows so I had guessed. Once I got through all the prompts I had to choose a place to save Windows to. None of them allowed me to? Not sure where I'd gone wrong here and ever since my Mac won't shut down without switching it off from the back!
QUOTE Thanks
mrplow

mrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i7 (2011) 10.10, iPhone6, iPad Air, AppleTV2

Quote:
I am a Mac novice and tried to download a genuine copy of Windows 7 to my Mac.
Do you mean you're trying to install Windows 7 via bootcamp?
Which version of Windows 7?
Which model of Mac do you have?
Which version of OSX?

Quote:
I wasn't sure how much partition to give Windows so I had guessed.
How much did you go for?
Was this done in the Bootcamp wizard?