Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/running-windows-anything-else-your-mac/)
-   -   Utility to edit Windows Registry from Mac side? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/running-windows-anything-else-your-mac/236578-utility-edit-windows-registry-mac-side.html)

ZeaTea 04-26-2011 02:39 PM

Utility to edit Windows Registry from Mac side?
 
Hey guys! I need to edit the windows registry from the mac side, does anyone know of a way/utility to do this?

edit: It's a windows partition I've installed using BootCamp.

Malware forked the booting process, so I need to get into the registry to clean some things up.

Raz0rEdge 04-26-2011 03:40 PM

Don't believe it is possible from outside of Windows and most definitely not a Mac..

You might want to use your Windows CD and boot from it, ask it to repair your installation and it might hopefully fix up the registry..

Regards

Deckyon 04-26-2011 03:48 PM

First, how far along in the boot process can you get?

If you cant get to the splash screen, you may need to boot with the Win CD and boot into the Safe Mode, clear the malware, then try running normally.

If you cant get to the Splash Screen, I can pretty much say editing the registry wont help you. Go ahead and try and get the date and start over.

Next time, pay attention to all boxes that pop up when surfing...

ZeaTea 04-27-2011 12:14 PM

Tried booting from the Windows installation disc, using the recovery console, and replacing the registry files with the ones created upon OS installation. No dice, though!

Was forced to reformat and reinstall windows. Bit of a bummer, but I was able to save most of the important stuff before hand from the Mac side.

As a preventative measure, spybot was the first program I installed after drivers this time around.

Thanks for the responses, guys!

Deckyon 04-27-2011 12:56 PM

No one scanner will keep you protected. When I actually ran scanners on my Win7 box, I ran AVG Free, and only scanned with the portableapps.com version Spybot once a week or so, I did not have it running all the time. My Win7 Bootcamp only runs with Windows Defender (included w/ Win7).

Of course, I paid (and pay) attention to the sites I went to and any popups that came up.

bobtomay 04-27-2011 01:12 PM

If you are running Spybot's Teatimer, that'll at least getting it asking you when anything wants to make a change to the registry.

That's the first thing I set up on the peoples machines that are in a habit of bringing me virus/malware infected machines to fix.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.