New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

MSDNAA Vista on Bootcamp

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Paladinleeds

Paladinleeds is on a distinguished road

Hey guys, bit of a newbie here.

I'm wanting to install Windows on my MacBook, I have access to it free and legally through the Microsoft Academic Alliance. I also have a Windows desktop PC for my main stuff (this bootcamp is just for managing my BlackBerry on the go).

Now, since I've already installed a 32-bit edition of Windows 7 on to my desktop PC (which I think I'm gonna have to upgrade to 64-bit), I plan to use the MSDNAA for Vista instead (prefer it over XP, and 7 seems to be a non-option).

However, there's one snag. I'm scared of bricking it, or losing all my Mac OS data, the latter of which happened during a Linux Ubuntu dual-boot installation (having read tutorial after tutorial after tutorial, spent about 72 hours, not solid, reading tutorials on how to do it). I'd selected use entire partition (which had been created specially for it), and it used the entire disk.

So, how do I go about doing this? I've used BootCamp before, when trying to set up Linux dual-boot, but I'm not sure how it goes for setting up Windows dual-boot. Also, the MSDNAA breaks the Vista installation into 5 CDs. How will that affect my installation?