New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

"No Bootable device- insert disc and press any key"

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Mac Hunter

Mac Hunter is on a distinguished road

Hi Team,
I am new to this Mac world. I am in Big trouble so please some one help me to fix the following issue.

I am using Mac BookPro (10.5.2). Trying to install Vista Ultimate via bootcamp, I have partitioned the drive and when I try to start the installer for windows getting a message ""No Bootable device- insert disc and press any key"
I have enabled the startup to start with CD(windows) and still the same issue.
My internal DVD drive is gone bad. So I am using external DVD drive. Also I installed the VirtualBox and I can able to install Vista..but I don't want to use VB. I want to use Boot Camp. So please please please help me out from this issuueeeeeeee.......

Thanks,
MaC

[FONT="Comic Sans MS"]Gk[/FONT]
QUOTE Thanks
SammySlim

SammySlim is a jewel in the roughSammySlim is a jewel in the rough

Microsoft has long restricted Windows so that it cannot be booted from an external drive, which is why you are getting the error. You will need to replace your internal drive on the MBP to boot Windows. This is not a Mac, Boot Camp or OSX issue - this has been the case for Windows since the mid-1990s... Sorry to bring you the bad news.