New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

Best way to remove Parallels?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

5tevie

5tevie is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Mac Mini Aluminium running at 2.4 GHz.

Hi Guys and Guyesses,
I'm fairly new to Macs having switched just a few weeks ago.
One of the first things that I did was install Parallels 6.0 and Windows XP. I regret doing it for 2 reasons. Firstly, the real reason for installing it was so that I could run a particular Windows programme which I couldn't find a substitute for that worked on a Mac. I have now found it. Secondly, my kosher XP disc is from before any of the SP updates came out and now, having installed Parallels and my XP disc, I keep getting told that updates are ready to download and install. These updates are SP2 which installs just so far and then spits its dummy out and refuses to continue. Because of this failure to upgrade to SP2, I don't hold out much chance for SP3. Because of that, I don't think that my XP installation is going to be all that dependable and trustworthy.