Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/running-windows-anything-else-your-mac/)
-   -   gaming on bootcamp... (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/running-windows-anything-else-your-mac/208063-gaming-bootcamp.html)

DKSHAY 07-12-2010 10:37 PM

gaming on bootcamp...
 
Does anyone know if it is generally better to play games on windows via bootcamp or on OSX? I want to know if starcraft 2 would run better on windows or MAC..... it will be made available for both OS's. My computer is a 15" core i7 macbook pro 4 gb ram geforce GT330 512MB 500 gb hard drive

Also, if i game on the mac i cant use my logitech G9X because you cant be very precise with the mouse for some reason.....i've changed the DPI to the lowest setting and made a few changes, buts its still not very good under OSX - any thoughts?

Appreciate any info....thx

cwa107 07-12-2010 10:40 PM

NOTE: Thread moved to appropriate forum. Not just anything goes in Anything Goes

DKSHAY 07-14-2010 05:11 PM

anyone??

chscag 07-15-2010 02:41 AM

I can't answer your question regarding the Logitech G9X settings, but as far as Starcraft 2 or any game that is available for both Windows and OS X, it's always better to go with the OS X version. Remember, running Windows via a Boot Camp partition means you have to purchase a full version of either XP, Vista, or Windows 7. But if the G9X is important to your playing, go for the Win version.

Regards.

mknabster 07-15-2010 12:10 PM

I am a regular gamer on both platforms, and I have noticed that for most games, Windows performs better in the graphics deprtment, but then again, you do need a tool that restricts other processes to run. For example, I tried The Sims 3 on both platforms, and the Sims 3 was easily playable on Windows on high, with OSX, I had to turn it down to Low-Medium. So, that's what my opinion is with that, in regards to the mouse, I know that there is some sort of driver program you can get that allows you to use the settings for these mice on Mac, I can't remember whats it's called for the life of me though. I have the Logitech Performance MX, and that just has the same DPI setting throughout, I hoenstly don't know how to change it, since Setpoint doesn't work on Winodws 7 for some reason.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.