New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

Linux - Getting Linux to boot on macbook pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

BDBMX

BDBMX is on a distinguished road

Hello, this is my first post here as Im pretty new to mac stuff so be gentle

Basiacally Im trying to triple boot my macbook pro with OSX, Vista, and Suse Linux, and I'm having trouble getting Linux to boot. Ive installed windows with boot camp, and I'm using REFIt as a boot manager. I partitioned the 120GB disk into 50gb OSX, 50GB Windows, 2GB Swap for linux and the rest ext3 for linux.

The problem is getting Linux to boot. Refit lists all OS and OSX and Vista are booting ok, but if I try to boot linux I get "No bootable device found -- Insert porper boot media". Ive set up lilo.conf and installed lilo properly as far as I can tell.

So has anyone seen this before or know what would cause it?
QUOTE Thanks
aarnclayt

aarnclayt is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: MacBook 1.83 GHz intel c2d, 2gb ram, xp and os x.6

did you install linux? i don't know much about suse, but it would also help if you mentioned where you installed lilo. mbr? or efi?
QUOTE Thanks
aarnclayt

also... more importantly... how did you partition your disk? it looks like you have 5 partitions which means 1 of them has to be an extended partition

this could be your problem. you may have to drop the swap partition so you just have
1)efi
2)hfs+