New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

Windows - Boot camp Questions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

skcuf

skcuf is on a distinguished road

I am new to the Mac world and I was just wondering about boot camp. Can I use boot camp with a CD from an old PC. One of those that says "for reinstallation". Or would I have to buy a whole new windows CD to run boot camp. I was just wondering because I need to run visual basic for school and this is obviously done by using Windows. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance
QUOTE Thanks
cwa107

cwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond reputecwa107 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD

For both technical and legal reasons, you may not use a reinstallation disc. It must be either a retail copy of Windows XP with SP2 or an OEM "for system builders" copy (which you can get from NewEgg.com for about $100).

http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/win...ers-guide.html