New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac Discussion of Classic or running Windows, Linux and other OSes on the Mac.

OS 10.5 - Vista Home Premium Booting Problems

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Y D K

Y D K is on a distinguished road

Hi there,

Complete novice to Macs in general and the whole concept of dual booting here, and first time poster.

I bought a copy of Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit after being advised by a pal that works in I.T. so I could dual boot it with my MacBook Pro.

The O/S seems to load fine however when I try to load the drivers from the OS X disc I get a couple of errors;

Status Starting Services:
Service: Key Agent

Status Starting Services:
Service: Mac HAL

Both of these seem to fail when I run the disc, however everything else seems to install properly and Windows even acknowledges the install was successful. I am using an admin account to install the drivers obviously however I'm still receiving this error? Can anyone shed any light?

Also Vista doesn't seem to be picking up my Wireless Router at all, OS X picked it up straight away so it's definitely working, however Windows returns a statement declaring there are no available networks when I try to set it up?

Also right click functionality according to the Boot Camp manual doesn't appear to be working either? I'm aware there is third party software to fix this but is it necessary?