New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Launching DVD on startup

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

lazerweb

lazerweb is on a distinguished road

As a newbie I'm having difficulties installing a new op system on my G4 400MHZ. My new op system is OSX 10.4 and is on a DVD. I hold down the 'c' button and I used to get a flashing "?" but this has stopped happening. I have also tried holding down the 'option' key - and it only shows the HDD and an arrow. I currently have OS 9.2 on the mac.

Is there a way of accessing the motherboard to see that the computer has DVD has first priority boot, as in windows? Any help would be geat as I am tearing my hair out. I am sure the operating system on my DVD is not corrupt.
Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
dtravis7

dtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: iMac 2.4 C2D 10.9.4, iMac 2.16 C2d 10.6.8, Macbook2007 10.8.4, Mac Mini 10.8.4, iPhone 3GS Note 8!!

Is the Optical drive in that G4 400 for sure a DVD ROM? If so maybe the drive has issues reading DVD's.
QUOTE Thanks
lazerweb