New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Problem detecting external firewire HD

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

pdobek

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Macs so I apologize if this is a dumb question.

I have an external Maxtor HD (the One Touch firewire version). The HD worked fine for a while and the Mac had no problem with it. However recently the Mac stopped detecting it. I have no idea where to begin resolving this. I know in Windows there is a way to view external devices and it even showed when there were device driver issues. Is there an equivalent? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Paul

PS - I have a 20" Intel iMac, and I've tried installing the latest Maxtor software to no avail.
QUOTE Thanks
eric

eric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond reputeeric has a reputation beyond repute

i'm guessing this topic may be moved to a more appropriate sub-forum...

have you tried connecting the drive before powering up?

can you use usb at all?

does it work on another machine?

last resort may be to pop the drive into another enclosure and see if that works...
QUOTE Thanks
rman