New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Hard drive disappeared when reformatting for Time machine

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

gsuloo

gsuloo is on a distinguished road

I am new to this, so this is my first entry into the forum. Correct me if I am wrong.I bought a Seagate Extension 2 GB hard drive for MacBook to store data via Time Machine about a year ago and it worked fine until a few weeks ago when it failed. I was given a new 2GB Seagate Extension. I had to reformat it from PC to Journaled Extended. I have done this many times before without a problem. This time Disc Utility performed the reformat and confirmed it. I turned my computer on the following day. No Seagate Extn? It no longer can be seen as a device. I could not use it for Time Machine. I am still using OSX10.7 as I have been told my MacBook cannot handle the new operating system.

Last edited by gsuloo; 06-27-2014 at 06:04 AM. Reason: More information
QUOTE Thanks
mrplow

mrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i7 (2011) 10.10, iPhone6, iPad Air, AppleTV2