New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

How to get admin password off of used iMac G3?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

igotpotatoes

igotpotatoes is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Way too many Apple symbols

Let me start off by saying I am very new at this. I purchased a surplus lot of 20 iMac g3's from a school district and they all have admin passwords so settings such as monitor adjustments can not be made. I can use the computers just fine through student account but there is an account for teachers and admins with passwords. What's the route of bypassing this and then removing or disabling the password for future use? Thank you in advance!
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, Yosemite

You would need an install - recovery disk for the operating system that's being run on the G3 machines. Those are very old machines so it may be difficult to locate an install disk. Are all the machines running the exact same operating system and are all the G3s alike?
QUOTE Thanks