Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Other Hardware and Peripherals (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/)
-   -   Drag files to Time Capsule (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/306781-drag-files-time-capsule.html)

pjbeckett 12-16-2013 12:45 AM

Drag files to Time Capsule
 
I just set up my Time Capsule. It is connected wirelessly to my iMac. I am trying to drag files from my iMac to the time capsule. I get the message, "Modifying ' name of time capsule' requires an administrator name and password. To move 'file name', click Authenticate." But there is no Authenticate button. What should I do?

pendlewitch 12-16-2013 04:54 AM

Hello,
I don't think that you can do this. You are effectively trying to drag files into the back up folder created by TM.

What you can do I believe is click on the TM icon in Finder's Devices list, click Command-Shift-N which will create a new folder that you can name in the usual way and drag your files and folders to there.

That said these files will exist on their own. If you've already set TM up to back them up already it seems unnecessary effort to me. TM is an auto-back up and once it's done it's first one which may take some time it just does incremental back ups for stuff you change along the way.

Did you let TM perform it's first full back up?

bobtomay 12-16-2013 05:24 AM

1 Attachment(s)
In Finder - highlight the TC in the sidebar

On the right side - at the top - you should see either:
'Connected As... your user name' and a 'Disconnect' button
or
'Not Connected' and a 'Connect As...' button

You will use that 'Connect' button to authenticate.

..

bobtomay 12-16-2013 05:32 AM

Once connected - You need to open the drive.
You'll notice in the right box - the 'Data' folder is called a 'Sharepoint'
That means it is a drive - if you are trying to add a file here - it thinks you are trying to add a drive to the Time Capsule.
Thus, you can't drag into the top folder (your Time Capsule) without opening the drive.

Double click on the 'Data' folder to open the drive.
You'll see your TM backups there and this is actually the root of the drive and you should now be able to create new folders and drag data over to the drive.

bobtomay 12-16-2013 05:57 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Here's an example connected to my HTPC (for those that may have partitioned their TC into multiple partitions).

You'll notice 3 'Sharepoints'
Those are the drives and folders that are being shared.
In order to move files to/from my Windows box - one of those Sharepoints needs to be opened.

..


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.