New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

iMac HardDrive Question....

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

F-Body Fanatic

I'm looking into getting a G3 iMac ( I know... OLD ) I've never used a mac before, and I pretty much wanna learn how to use one, and then decide if I want to spend more to get a newer one or not.

Anyways - after looking on ebay, it looks like not too many people upgraded from their 6gig hdd. 6 gig's isn't going to cut it for me

My question:
How hard is it to swap out a hard drive (I'm used to windows boxes) and is there any kind of limitation on how big of one you can get? Also, does the hard drive have to be specific to a mac, or will a plain ol' Western Digital do the trick??

I've noticed there's plenty of ram up for grabs on Ebay, so upgrading from the 32mb shouldn't be hard to do at all, fortunatly. How many slots does an iMac have?

And, I am aware that mac's process faster than a pentium/amd processor....... What would a 333mhz be on par with?

:confused:

Sorry for all the questions!!
QUOTE Thanks
csuram44

If i need to find out about hardware info for ANY mac I always go to this website:

http://www.apple-history.com